Spread Out Those Grammys: Academy Needs To Get Out More

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I like to think that my tastes in music are quite broad.  I don’t listen to much Hip Hop or Pop music at home or in the car but I can appreciate I good Hip Hop song in the right place at the right time.  Like on the dance floor.  I’ve been DJing for about 18 years so I have a pretty decent gauge for what people like to dance to and what songs may have some staying power and still be looked upon fondly in 2 to 5 years.

Adele did release a great album last year and she deserves the recognition she’s getting.  But come on, 6 Grammys!  And Foo Fighters, 5 Grammys!  Best Pop performance by a duo or group goes to Tony Bennett and Amy Winehouse!  And best new artist is Bon Iver who released his first album in 2007!  I don’t get it.   So I’m taking off my Indie music hat and throwing on my DJ headphones and here’s how I think it should have gone down:

Album of the year: 21 by Adele

Song of the year: Rolling In The Deep by Adele

Record of the year: Born This Way by Lady Gaga

Rock album of the year: The Whole Love by Wilco

Rock song of the year: Lonely Boy by The Black Keys

Best Hard Rock/Metal performance: White Limo by Foo Fighters (because they’re nice guys who scream)

Best Alternative music album: Bad As Me by Tom Waits (because his music really can’t be categorized)

Best new artist: Foster The People

Best performance by Pop duo or group: Moves Like Jagger by Maroon 5

Best Rap/Sung collaboration: Good Feeling by Flo Rida

Best Dance/Electronica album: Sorry For Party Rocking by LMFAO

Best short or long-form music video (because 1 category is enough for music videos): Sadness Is a Blessing by Lykke Li

Well, that’s about all I would change.  Oh yeah, nicest guys and best acceptance speech can go to Foo Fighters.  Because seriously, that’s got to be why they did so well.

…by Sandy Gritt

Comments
  1. Robert Stewart says:

    I agree with you for the most part. I thought the Grammy’s were somewhat boring and even trite this year especially with all the celebs falling all overthemselves to pay tribute to Whitney Houston.

    In fact, the best part of the evening (I thought ) was Taylor Swift’s performance (even if it wasn’t ‘live’), Adele’s performance (definetly live) and both of Paul McCartney’s performances.

    The rest was just ho-hum (or in the case of Nicki Minaj, downright horrible).

    Who the hell can figure out how the ‘voting members’ made their choices.

    Q. Did I miss something or did they leave Etta James out of the tribute to musicans who passed?

    • Sandy Gritt says:

      I didn’t actually watch the broadcast yesterday but saw the closing number from Paul McCartney today on Youtube. Cool that he played Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End and rocked out on guitar with the other notables.

Leave a Reply

